Time-busting junk food

Well, I did not get the Monday musing out on Monday. So, maybe a Wednesday Wandering?

I was just journaling my thoughts for the morning (a spiritual coach has, thankfully, given me a “first 15 minutes of the day” journaling homework assignment). I began to realize how often I give my time and attention to things that don’t need either. I began to think of those things as “time junk food” that I need to cut out of my daily diet.

Having recently changed my eating habits and lost some weight, this image is fresh for me. I have come to a place of making better decisions about the food I eat. I feed my health and my future more than my taste buds. It used to be that junk food was a big part of my diet – pizza, fries, cakes, pies, etc. But now, I stay away from those things and I feel better. I am trimmer and more energetic and life is better because of making that decision.

So, with that idea fresh in my head, the Spirit prompted me to consider the use of my time in the same way. How often it is that I get on the computer and check Facebook?  It’s a great way to communicate, so I am not dismissing it.  But so many times I check Twitter feeds and emails and text messages. Most of what I encounter is “junk food” in regard to the time I give it. Even when I eat good food I can eat too much of it and be unhealthy. It seems it has been that way with my time.

Here’s the big insight I got as I journaled. I give myself over to the “junk food” times without a thought. That then leaves me less time to get done what I need to get done. Not thinking of the “junk food” moments, I now feel like I just have too much to do and too much pressure. The reality is, I do have much to do, I can be overwhelmed, but my “junk food” addiction is making it worse. Then, to top it all off, I feel so overwhelmed by my to-do list that I need to take time away to breathe again – and then get back to the work still to be done.

I wish I could tell you I have confidence that I can change this about myself. But, I know me and I am not too confident. Having said that, I do believe my life can be different. You see, I have one who can help me change. I know the God of the Universe, the Creator of all that is seen and unseen – and God loves me. So, on my own I spend time on the “junk”. But, if I acknowledge my failures and give myself over to the transforming power of God, I can find new life.

All of us are looking with unveiled faces at the glory of the Lord as if we were looking in a mirror. We are being transformed into that same image from one degree of glory to the next degree of glory. This comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.
(2 Corinthians 3:18)

It means keeping my failures in mind and going to God with the ongoing struggle. And just as it has been a process for me to eat right and lose weight, so it will also be a process to change my time management habits. But, I have hope because I have experienced that hope in other ways.

What about you? What do you struggle with? Food? Time? Finances? Relationships?

Whatever it may be, let me tell you that the God of the universe is ready to love you and empower you to discover a new life. There is HOPE in Jesus Christ.

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

One response to “Time-busting junk food

  1. Liked your post. I too battle eating/weight. Going to Weight Watchers gave me a whole new perspective of what church should/could be. Which leads me to your reference to a spiritual coach. You are not the first pastor that has referenced one. It was once recommended I go hire one. I can’t help but wonder if the emergence of “spiritual coaches” are a sign of the failure of the church. In the Wesleyan tradition, church was all about supporting and encouraging each other in our walks: talking about what worked, what didn’t, where we fell short. That is what Weight Watchers is about; they also provide tools to help you succeed. Grounding people in the gospel of Jesus followed by placing them in a group of fellow believers who talked about “how things are going” and giving them tools/spiritual disciplines is what made Methodism so successful. Doing this also gave people a vocabulary to talk about their faith. The United Methodist Church has lost those concepts. So, I’m curious, if the church is not there to “help you along the way”, what is it there for? Why should I support the church if I still have to go hire a spiritual coach? Personally I would prefer an authentic faith community than a hired coach–multiple views/perspectives are more enlightening–and that would build community. It has always felt like I was supposed to have some “basic knowledge” before I walked into church–knowledge I had nowhere else to acquire except the church because spiritual coaches were not in existence.

    The church is supposed to be God’s mission to a lost and hurting world.

    These are just thoughts/questions that surface whenever I hear about spiritual coaches. I’m not sure how coherent they are from your perspective.

Leave a Reply

