Walk with Jesus, not Toward him

I am so profoundly grateful for the time I have to spend with Jesus right now. I am so thankful for a family and a church that supports my time away. God has met me and talked to me and shown me much about myself and my inner spiritual life that I am so glad to understand.

One piece of this has been to understand again, and to understand in a new way, that Jesus Christ is the source of my life more than the destination or goal of my life. I have discovered that I had been living more FOR my relationship with Jesus and not so much FROM my relationship with Jesus.

I find a greater peace in this new understanding. I live not to please Christ as much as to live with him. I enjoy the journey because he is my companion, instead of feeling the pressure to do thngs rightly because I long to get to Jesus – as if he is a prize to be won.

I find my time in the morning to be more than it ever was because I no longer try to make it something I think it has to be. I am learning to “focus completely on a genuine and innocent commitment to Christ” (2 Corinthians 11:3b). And, to be clear, learning is not the same as trying. Learning allows my struggle to be a benefit to my training and not a red mark against my effort – and that’s an incredibly helpful distinction for me.

I pray that you will also know this life in Christ. The key is not to try and walk toward him but to walk with him.

Holy high-five to you,

Mike

Leave a Reply

