Faith is a Crock (pot)

The microwave oven is one of the best and worst inventions ever. It’s great for heating things up and making queso from Velveeta and Rotel tomatoes. But, the appeal of the quickness of the microwave leads to food that is less than what it could be. Trying to get things cooked quickly does not mean things are cooked well.

The crock pot on the other hand is based on an age-old method of letting things cook slowly over a long period of time. You combine numerous ingredients for several hours over low heat and the result is food with great flavors nicely combined together that makes for a nice “comfort-food” meal.

What I often fail to remember is that my heart and soul are not so different from a good cut of beef (okay, I may have just “jumped the shark” here). The point is, I often think I can microwave my faith and get myself to the place I need to be in my journey with Jesus. A weekend retreat. An inspirational book. Listening to an online sermon from a popular and creative preacher. These are often ways I try to get my faith to a new level – really quickly. The problem is, the result is mediocre at best.

On the other hand, when I allow God to work in me over time, life is more of a feast. When I take time daily to pray and read, when I listen to Christian music on a regular basis, when I wait on God to bring renewal to my soul, then the result is beyond what I could have hoped for.

Patience seems to be the key. In this fast-paced world where we tap our fingers waiting for the microwave to ~ding~, the time-tested work of the crock pot, given the time it needs, will do a better job of giving us a deep down, tender, flavorful “comfort-food” kind of faith.

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

One response to “Faith is a Crock (pot)

  1. I just started a new Bible study with the women’s group in my area. I didn’t go last year and when I returned this year I realized how much I had missed it. They actually taught me how to study the Bible a couple of years ago during my study of Revelation. A daily lesson of 5-10 verses with questions that stir up thought and awaken the Holy Spirit and create an opportunity for discerning scripture and applying meaning – God talking to me.

    Interestingly, I thought about reading the Bible while not in a study but there’s something about meeting with a group and having a conversation about what that particular scripture reading meant to you. With the variation in ages, there is a wide range. I think God also talks to us through others so I get a double dose.

    I’m enjoying it tremendously.

Leave a Reply

