No Greater Love…

I sit here typing as I wait for my role as the wrap-up leader for VBS. My Panda hat, shown here, sits on the chair across from my desk, waiting for me to take it on once more. It is day 4 of 5.

Beyond the door of my office I hear the chatter of other adults serving at the check–in/check-out tables, serving as song leaders, and serving as snack leaders. Down the hall are even more adults and youth leading young children from place to place, taking them to the different stations where they learn more and more about God’s great love for them.

By the way, it’s 6:30 in the evening. Most of these adults have been working all day – either as employees or as parents at home. Evening VBS is great for families with working parents, but its tough on the volunteers (who, as I said, are in some form or fashion working parents). What I don’t hear outside my office door is complaints and squabbling. I don’t hear the voices of people wishing they were somewhere else. It’s late, but they’re glad to be here.

Jesus told his disciples:

Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.
(John 15:13 TNIV)

For adults and parents who could be at home dealing with issues and bed times more conducive to a perceived sense of peace, serving at VBS is a means of laying down their life. They laid down their family-determined agenda. They laid down quiet moments, family meals, and early bedtimes. They laid down their evening run to the grocery store and instead have been doing that later in the night.

They didn’t have to do this. They could have said no. They have a great love. A great love for God, for children, and for each other.

I’m blessed to be a witness to this work of God in our corner of the world. If you see these folks, give them a hug, let them know they’re loved as well.

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

Leave a Reply

