Wesley’s questions

In seeking greater holiness of heart and life, John Wesley and others who were part of the “Holiness Club” asked themselves these 22 questions each day in their private devotions:

  1. Am I consciously or unconsciously creating the impression that I am better than I really am? In other words, am I a hypocrite?
  2. Am I honest in all my acts and words, or do I exaggerate?
  3. Do I confidentially pass on to another what was told to me in confidence?
  4. Can I be trusted?
  5. Am I a slave to dress, friends, work, or habits?
  6. Am I self-conscious, self-pitying, or self-justifying?
  7. Did the Bible live in me today?
  8. Do I give it time to speak to me everyday?
  9. Am I enjoying prayer?
  10. When did I last speak to someone else about my faith?
  11. Do I pray about the money I spend?
  12. Do I get to bed on time and get up on time?
  13. Do I disobey God in anything?
  14. Do I insist upon doing something about which my conscience is uneasy?
  15. Am I defeated in any part of my life?
  16. Am I jealous, impure, critical, irritable, touchy, or distrustful?
  17. How do I spend my spare time?
  18. Am I proud?
  19. Do I thank God that I am not as other people, especially as the Pharisees who despised the publican?
  20. Is there anyone whom I fear, dislike, disown, criticize, hold a resentment toward or disregard? If so, what am I doing about it?
  21. Do I grumble or complain constantly?
  22. Is Christ real to me?

Wesley pursued these questions and sought to live in such a way that he could give good answers, maybe even better answers, each day. He did it not to earn God’s love and approval, but to discover the greater life that comes from holiness of heart and life. He did it not to get abundant life, but to live into the abundance of life God had given him by grace.

What would your life look like if you were to ask yourself these same questions?
How might your life change if you tried to live each day so you could give a better answer to those questions the next time?

I say we give it a shot.
What do we have to lose but our old lives?
What might we gain but life of greater abundance and blessing?

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

Leave a Reply

