Who Are Your “Tin Foil” People?

I am old enough to remember having to adjust the rabbit ears on the antenna of the TV in order to get a signal (yes, children, there was a time when the only cable or wires coming from the TV was the electric plug – no cable, no video jacks, no HDMI). Tuning the TV was always an adventure as you tried to snag the signal out of the air as it floated around the TV set. Many of us tried the old stand-by of wrapping tin foil around the antenna to pick up “more” of the signal. And it often worked – until the tin foil went to aluminum foil, which doesn’t work nearly as well.

In a conversation the other night, a small group I’m in, we were talking about our receptivity to the Holy Spirit. Like the old style TV’s we can pick up the signal of the Holy Spirit, but our antenna have to be pointed in the right direction. When we put ourselves in a position to hear God, interestingly enough, we hear God. It’s the promise Jesus gave –

the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.
(John 14:26)

To be in a position to hear God means doing like Jesus did – getting away by ourselves, praying, meditating on God’s Word. It also means having “tin foil” people who can help.

I realized the other night that “tin foil people” is the term I have been looking for. I always talk about a time in my life, before I answered a call to ministry, when I was involved with a group of men who met once a week for accountability and prayer. For those who have been through an Emmaus retreat, this was my Reunion Group. I distinctly remember a night when I told them I was being called to something, I just didn’t know what. These men prayed over me, they prayed with me, and they prayed for me.

Eventually I began to realize I was being called into the ordained ministry. These men never told me what God wanted me to do. They were just “tin foil people”. Their love for me and their prayers made it easier for me to catch God’s signal, to hear God’s voice in my life. I continue to thank God for them. I also realize the importance of having people around me who pray over, with, and for me – I need tin foil people in my life. The flip side, of course, is that I need to be a tin foil person for others.

So, who are your “tin foil” people?
Who are you a “tin foil” person for?

If you can’t name anyone, today’s a good day to find them. Get with a group that prays together – prays over, with, and for each other. You may just find yourself hearing God more often and more clearly.

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

Leave a Reply

