I don’t trust God

(ALERT: There will be no blog posted between the time this one is published and Monday, March 21st. My son, Andrew and I will be camping and the computer will stay at home. Thanks for reading the blogs, I hope you will continue even after the break.)

.

Strange title for a pastor, huh? Unfortunately, it’s true.

Don’t get me wrong, It’s not that I don’t trust God at all, it’s just that there are times when I realize I don’t trust God. It usually happens when there are many things going on and many situations happening in my sphere of existence. You know what I mean, the work piled up on the desk coupled with meetings on the calendar get added to the fact that someone just went in the hospital or got sent home from the hospital too soon and the family is struggling to make it work…

Sometimes I get overwhelmed, and I bet you do too. It’s in those times that I find myself trusting God the least. I have it in my mind that I have got to figure out a way to clean off my desk, get properly prepared for all the meetings, make some calls, visit the hospital, and last, but not least, get a message written for Sunday. I’ve got to work it out. I’ve got to make it happen. I’m responsible for these things and these people and I should be able to take care of them. I… I… I…

Yep. I…

You see, I don’t trust God, not really. If I trusted God I would be living with less anxiety — “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” (Matthew 6:26) If I trusted that truth I would know that God watches over not just me, but also those I am not able to be with at the moment.

Or this: “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” (Ephesians 6:10-11) If I trusted God I would live in the reality that I have power beyond my own. I would know that as I give myself to whatever I have before me, it is possible for the mountain that seems insurmountable to crumble before me. The devil would have me feel lost and suffocated.

There are times when I don’t trust God and life becomes overwhelming. So, I think I’ll stop. I will stop NOT trusting God. I will choose to trust and believe in the promise God gives to me in His Word. I will pray. I will call upon the Lord, and when I call, God will answer. That is God’s promise. This I believe.

I DO trust God. Do you?

Holy high five to you,
Mike

One response to “I don’t trust God

  1. Your boldness helps me to recognize that I am not the only one that suffers from this weakness. I often feel so very deficient in my faith even though I realize that God often uses others unwittingly to pull me through a tough spot. I have to assume He uses me in that same way. I don’t always make an effort to let my unwitting helpmate know but I think I shall try to make a special effort to let them know I they helped me.

Leave a Reply

