Being vs. Doing

I spent several days last week in personal retreat and then helping with a group retreat. It was a good reminder of the importance of “being still and knowing God is God”. So often I am caught up in my “to do” list I forget my “to be” list.

So, what items would I put on my “to be” list? Here are some thoughts:

  • To be… at peace, I take my anxieties, fears, challenges to God (Philippians 4:6-7)
  • To be… strong, I take time to live in the joy of the Lord. It means enjoying the good things of God while also sharing with others – not as a task but as a celebration
    (Nehemiah 8:9-10)
  • To be… confident, I remember that no matter where I go or what I face, God is there to see me through
    (Psalm 121)
  • To be… faithful, I spend time with God who works in me to transform me more and more into the likeness of His son, Jesus
    (2 Corinthians 3:17-18)

I will admit, I am better at focusing on my “to do” list all the while hoping my “to be” list will take care of itself. I confess, that doesn’t work well – actually, it doesn’t work at all. So, the time I spent off away from the normal “to do” stuff really made a difference. It also reminded me that taking that time, even for a few minutes a day, can help me “be” better.

How about you? Do you have a “to be” list? Do you find time away? Do you find time each day to be with God and not just do for God and others?

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

2 responses to “Being vs. Doing

  1. Mike,
    Like you, my “to do” list is constantly on my mind, while my “to be” quiet time is limited. I love helping others, but am I doing God’s work or just being self-centered? I need to listen & pray more to get it right! Like Elizabeth says, I need to find my place in joining God in his work. I have been blessed with the ability of building many things. I have been looking for places to use this gift. May God always use me to do his will!!

    From a fellow believer, may God always bless you & your family,
    Dennis

    • Dennis – you do have the gift for building and fixing! I have to be reminded all the time that in my “being” times with God is when He can show me where to do my “doing”. Otherwise i do what I think is best, not always what God would have me do – not always joining God in HIS work. I guess my point is, I am a kindred spirit, I understand.

      Peace and blessings to you,
      Mike

Leave a Reply

