Smile, You’re on Candid Camera

I just heard a story about a certain New Jersey Governor whose staff follow him around with “flip” video cameras. If they catch a “moment” worth sharing (i.e., the Governor giving his strong opinion to a teacher, or making an emphatic point in a chance meeting with folks on the other side, etc.) they post the video to YouTube.

That story made me wonder, what would happen if someone recorded every moment of my day? Would I like to have my moments posted on the internet for all to see? Would there be any moments worth watching? I began to think about how I would want my day to play out. I would definitely want to minimize my mistakes and my moments of frustration, anger, laziness, etc. I would also hope that there were moments of generosity and compassion and focus on God’s vision for me and our church.

It was an interesting exercise for looking ahead. I found myself going through my day and imagining where things might go wrong and how they could go really right. It caused me to give more thought to what I will do during my day – and it feels like a good way to make the most of what’s ahead.

The Apostle Paul talked about his actions and gave this advice:

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. (1 Corinthians 10:31)

What would your video look like at the end of today?

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

2 responses to “Smile, You’re on Candid Camera

  1. I’d think it would also be an opportunity to avoid authenticity, since you’re always asking the question, “What do I need to say and how do I need to say it to most incline my audience to do what I want them to do or to think what I want them to think?” Every encounter would not be about that encounter but about the “big picture.”

  2. Richard, I guess that would be true if I was HAVING the video taken of my day and seeking to have good moments posted, but for me it was more about how my day would look in retrospect if I saw a video of it.

    If I took your point into the context of how we live without video recordings but in view of the eyes of others, do we not already do the same thing? There is always the temptation to avoid authenticity.

    It is a valid critique to ask if I would look at the video in order to claim goodness or look at it to examine my life for authentic Christ-like character.

Leave a Reply

