Holy Discomfort

I sit on my comfy couch in my temperature controlled living room drinking a cup of coffee brewed in an automatic coffee maker watching the morning sports and news shows on my flat-screen TV hooked up to my local cable provider’s hi-def signal. I am grateful for the life I have the opportunity to enjoy.

And yet, my mind is filled with stories of young girls abducted and deceived into a life of slavery and degradation. My imagination can see the faces of the family that lies down on a hard floor hoping that sleep will give them a  bit of relief from their pangs of hunger. And my heart breaks for others who live like I do and think that this life of comfort and consumption will satisfy the deep longing in their souls.

I know many people would rather I applaud the work being done to help others; that I would not dismiss the hard work that has given many of us the life we have, and I do and I don’t, respectively. And yet, the issue I find to be true for me is that the closer I get to God the more I am afflicted with a holy discomfort.

I reckon it to be that as we draw closer to God we begin to know more the heart of God. And, while God is impressed with the way I have worked to attain the life I enjoy, and while God may be proud of how I am giving to others, I believe the bigger part of God’s heart  is aching for His children who have little – little to eat, little comfort, little hope, little peace. And more and more these days I feel that ache.

Part of me wants to apologize for what seems to be a downer of a blog post, but I can’t. The reality is this – the holy discomfort we feel is God’s way of drawing us more into the real life he longs for us to find – a life of sacrificial giving that impacts the lives of others. It’s the life Jesus led. It’s the life that led to his crucifixion and death, but that death led to his resurrection and him knowing life at a whole new level. The bigger part of me wants to know that life.

I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.
(Philippians 3:10-11)

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

Leave a Reply

