Worship Upgrade

In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!”
(Isaiah 6:1-3 NIV)

In settings like these the heavenly beings are in constant praise of the One True God. Worship is all about God and being caught up in the presence of God’s glory.

That’s where I found myself Sunday. I moved from singing the songs to singing to God. I moved from enjoying the music to enjoying the presence of God in that place. I found myself longing for the songs that celebrate God’s glory. I realized how many songs we sing to ourselves or sing to each other about God, which is not a bad thing, but it did not give me a way to express to God how my heart feels to be in His presence.

My worship experience was upgraded and the difference began in me. I chose to think about the time of worship in terms of the pictures we find in Scripture, pictures like the one from Isaiah. Getting my mind set in that direction made such a difference for me. Now I am even more anxious than normal for next Sunday to get here.

Consider a worship upgrade, a “reboot” to your spiritual system (to push an analogy to its limits). It changed my experience of God and it may do the same for you.

Holy high-five to you,
Mike

(My upgrade came as a result my involvement in a 3 year, small group discipleship journey led by Elizabeth Moreau of Servant’s Feast Ministries: http://www.servantsfeast.org/ and I am grateful)

2 responses to “Worship Upgrade

  1. I love some of the hymns we sing during the Traditional service, but more I love the Contemporary praise songs. Several of them speak to me more than others, and singing them is like I am talking to God, and reaffirming that He is present in my life, and all our lives.

    • Pat – I agree. It was a great day of worship for me Sunday and it had more to do with how I came into the service than anything else. You and I (and a couple of others) have the pleasure of worshiping in a variety of ways each week.

Leave a Reply

