Seeds of Curiosity

“I like to plant seeds of curiosity.”
~ Asbury UMC WOW Worship co-director

This is a ministry focus for our children’s worship ministry these days – and I love it! The goal is to plant seeds in the hearts and minds of our children that make them want to know more about God and Jesus Christ. The plan is to love them and teach them in such a way that they get curious about what it means to live as a Christian.

I believe this is a great plan for all of us, no matter where we are. If you work full-time in an office, at a plant, or in the community, you can live your life in such a way that people begin to wonder, “What is it about that person that makes them joyful in the midst of tensions and gracious in the face of mean and selfish behavior?” Living your life in a way that makes people wonder is a great way to open the door to conversations about God.

The challenge is to be ready for the moments when your seeds of curiosity begin to grow and blossom – the moments when others come to you and say, “How can you live like that? How can you have such peace in the midst of chaos?” Are you ready to tell them how your relationship with God has made your life what it is? Are you ready to let them know that the Spirit of God lives in you and empowers you to live in a whole new way?

Sharing your faith is really that easy. Live your life in such a way that it makes people wonder. Then, when they ask, tell them how the God of the universe changed your life when you decided to follow Jesus Christ. And, don’t forget to let them know God can do the same for them.

Through thick and thin, keep your hearts at attention, in adoration before Christ, your Master. Be ready to speak up and tell anyone who asks why you’re living the way you are, and always with the utmost courtesy. (1 Peter 3:14b-16a)

Holy high-five to you, Mike

One response to “Seeds of Curiosity

  1. No one that knows me has ever asked me, but I hope to be ready to tell them about it if asked. I am not good with words, but there are several people I know that need to hear, and Facebook is a great way for me to let them know how I am who I am, and they haven’t “dropped” me from their friends list yet. I can’t talk face to face with them as they don’t live in the area and I don’t see them that often, but I hope they take my posts on fb to heart. If they ever come back with comments I will find the words to get back with them…either on facebook or email. Maybe the words will come easily…

Leave a Reply

