Another “God Uses a Lamb Story”

I have a treat for you today – a guest blogger. My ministry assistant (known to most as the Asbury Church Office Manager), Andrea Mann was telling this story when I came in the office. I thought it was one that should be shared, so here it is:

This weekend I experience such an amazing event. My daughter competed in a livestock show – she was showing her lamb, “Purgie”. Her only request was to say a prayer to ease her nerves. So we and a couple of friends stepped over the side and huddled up to pray. I said a very small prayer to ask God for peace and calmness over my daughter.

As we begin to step away, I had a women come up to me and ask me if I was praying. I told her yes because my daughter had asked to pray to ease her nerves. She asked if she could join us in prayer. I told her of course. As we began to gather, more parents and kids started to come over. They asked if they could join us.  The answer to all was “of course”.

As I stood there I noticed kids from all different schools. Some I know and some I did not. As we circled up they looked to me and asked if I would lead the group in prayer.  I did not know what to say at first. I am not one that usually prays out loud in a group.  This request made me quite nervous, but I told them “Yes, I will lead”.  I asked others to pray aloud if they wanted to also.

I began to pray and ask for guidance, not only for my child but for all those who were at the event. Other parents and kids said prayers aloud as well.

I cannot express the joy I felt as a looked up and saw the group that stood before me. For that moment we were not competing against each other. We were one unit of Christians living our faith out loud for all to see. I was one the most amazing this I have ever seen.

I can’t tell you how much God has used Andrea to bless my life, the life of my family, and the life of our church. I’m glad you have the chance to blessed by her as well through this story.

Holy high-five to you, Mike

One response to “Another “God Uses a Lamb Story”

  1. Talk about OUTREACH! That is absolutely awesome. Brought tears.
    Dixie

Leave a Reply

