Now praying IN the chaos!

Be careful what you pray for! Last week I posted about our worship leader, Matt, praying for more chaos. And so chaos it is! It began with discussions about parking dilemma during the transition time between Sunday morning small groups and late worship. It moved on to new building problems, and then catapulted into a search for new staff. It has been a chaotic week.

So, what choice is there now that one prayer was answered? Simple – pray the next prayer. I am now praying in the chaos. Praying that God will prove Himself and move over the chaos to bring forth something new, something amazing, something only conceivable in the mind of God.

It reminds me of the story of Job where God spoke to him “out of the whirlwind”. The challenge of that story is to remember God’s reply – “I’m God and I know what I am doing. You may not get it, but seeing as how I set the heavens in place and ordered all things, you should probably give me the benefit of the doubt” (that’s my wording of God’s response).

That should be easy, but it’s not. I mean, if we allow God, the creator of the world and the giver of all good gifts to take control, everything will certainly work out. But, in the meantime we have to wait patiently in the chaos. We have to trust God’s timing and God’s agenda. that’s often hard for us because our human nature tells us we should be in control.

Don’t misunderstand, waiting on God is not a passive activity. We should still be doing what God called us to do last. We should still be praying to God every day and casting upon His shoulders all our cares and struggles. But, ultimately, we have to let God work things as God sees fit.

So, does life feel chaotic? Are you willing to trust God? Will you continue to pray with all your heart?

I tell you what – you pray for me and I’ll pray for you as we pray also for ourselves.

Holy high-five to you, Mike

Leave a Reply

