The End of Myself

Get to the end of yourself where you can do nothing, but where He does everything.                                                                         — Oswalt Chambers

A young boy working with his dad to clear a field comes across a boulder of a rock. He asks his dad if he thinks the boy can move the boulder on his own. The father responds, “If you use all your strength.” The boy pushes with all his might, tries and tries to move the rock, but nothing happens. He looks to his dad and says, “I guess you were wrong.” The dad smiles ever so slightly and says, “No, you just didn’t use ALL your strength – you didn’t ask me to help.”

I am the boy. “The end of myself” is one of the hardest places for me to get to. I give things all I’ve got and then some. And how often I forget that the best thing for me to do is realize I have at my disposal a strength greater than my own. I need to allow God to work in my life and to work in the challenges I face in life.

The Oswalt Chambers quote above comes from this past Sunday’s entry in his devotional “My Utmost for his Highest” (which I highly recommend). He is making reference to John the Baptist who said of Jesus, “He must become greater; I must become less” (John 3:30). John knew what I seem to have to learn over and over – Jesus can do more with me and for me than I could ever do by myself. But, he won’t force himself on me, he’ll wait for me to get to the end of myself and let him take over.

Do you have a boulder before you? Are you trying to move it all by yourself? Are you using ALL your strength?

Is it time for you to come to the end of yourself and realize where you can do nothing He can do everything?

Holy high-five to you, Mike

One response to “The End of Myself

  1. Paula Zikogiannis

    Thanks for this post! It hits home for me. I struggle with this alot. I try to move the “boulders” by myself, reasoning it out in my mind, that God gave me a brain to figure it out. I constantly remind myself that I need to use “all my strength” … let go … and let God.

Leave a Reply

