The Unexpected

My wife, Jan, was in a substantial car wreck on a major highway recently. We are thanking God for the blessing of minor injuries in what could have been devastating. In the aftermath of the wreck is the work of getting Jan checked by the doctor, picking up a rental car and dealing with conversations with insurance companies. This is not what I expected to deal with on my vacation, but such is life.

The more involved piece of this scenario is the need to purchase a new vehicle. That idea used to enthuse me. I love looking at new cars and trucks and finding a great new ride. I am not so excited this time – thanks to Dave Ramsey.

Jan and I recently finished the Financial Peace University course at our church. We have gotten to a good place regarding our budget and debt reduction plan. We feel more confident and in control of our financial future. Then this. The van was paid for, now it’s gone and has to be replaced. Now we face the challenge of how to make the replacement and still make our financial plan the best it can be. It’s not an impossible thing, it’s just a thing – an unexpected thing.

Are you dealing with the unexpected? If not, you will – and probably sooner than later. The best advice I have for you is that you can trust God to see you through. You may not get through unscathed and your budget plans might take a hit, but God will be there. Life happens and God knows it happens and God cares that it happens to you. Use your brain, make a plan, figure out your next step, and through it all trust God to see you safely to the other side. That’s what we’ve decided to do and so far it’s working quite well.

Holy high-five to you, Mike

One response to “The Unexpected

  1. I’ve come to find that God doesn’t want me to get too comfortable with where I am for fear I’ll just stay there. When I get to a point in my life that I’m really not experiencing stress, God will lure me into something that eventually creates excitement and growth. It’s my learning process, layers of pain covered by scars to remind me of where I was and where I now am – all because of the GRACE OF GOD!

Leave a Reply

