Disconnecting

This blog is short and hopefully sweet because I am officially on vacation. Here are my top three priorities for my time off:

GO OFF-LINE

I spend wonderful amounts of time connecting with people on Facebook, Twitter, and blogs. I will probably still peruse and post some, but my plan is to disconnect in a greater way than normal. It gives me reason to renew other aspects of my life.

READ

I spend lots of time working on the latest sermon, activity, or deadline. I spend too little time reading. And I spend for too little time reading something other than church leadership and church-related books. I plan to do some fiction reading.

RELAX

For me, one of the best things I can do is not live by a schedule. I like to be able to just float where the wind blows. Of course, we are right now dealing with issues of replacing a car that was totaled, a wife that was bruised up, and a daughter who has strep, that makes relaxing a bit more difficult, but not impossible.

If you happen to take some vacation for yourself this summer I encourage you to think about these three ideas.

I may write again next week and let you know how it’s going. Until then…

Holy high-five to you, Mike

3 responses to “Disconnecting

  1. adrian molina

    mike, first and foremost…I am so happy Jan is okay. The good lord was keeping her from harms way. Now, as far as your vacation goes, may it be a wonderful time, to help you find your center, and return to us refocused and reenergized. Finally, you r blog made me smile, with a warm heart. Your words always have a way of “refocusing” my own life! God bless you and your family!

  2. Glad to hear that Jan is ok since the wreck.
    Sorry to hear that Rebecca has strep. All will
    pass. Appears that vacation is still good and
    am sure a much needed change of pace.

  3. So sorry Rebecca has strep, and ever so thankful that Jan escaped with only bruises.
    Please enjoy your time with your wonderful family and God Bless All. We miss you all.
    Dixie

Leave a Reply

