My Sunday Best

It takes all of 2 minutes at the most. It’s not a newsworthy event by any means. And yet, there is nothing more noteworthy in my Sunday morning activities. 15 minutes prior to our worship services I have prayer warriors come and pray over me. It gives me a sense of what Moses felt when they were fighting the Amalekites:

As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset. (Exodus 17:11-12)

It makes a real difference when you have those who are willing to do the simple task of helping hold you up and keep you going. Sunday morning is a day when pastors are called to rally the troops and encourage the people – but God has set it up so pastors work better when they don’t work alone. It’s not only arrogant to think otherwise, it’s in opposition to the work of the Holy Spirit.

Here’s the greater truth – what’s true for pastors is true for everyone. We all need people to hold us up and help us stay strong in the struggles. I imagine you already agree with that, but, do you know it for yourself? When was the last time you had someone pray over you before a challenging day or a significant event? When was the last time you laid your hand on the shoulders of a friend who has a major project or presentation?

It is a simple but profound act. It is a way to usher in the power of God in a way we can’t do on our own. I hope you have the chance to experience what I have come to know as my Sunday best.

Holy high five to you, Mike

One response to “My Sunday Best

  1. Whenever I thought about Moses fighting the Amalekites, I realized that it wasn’t Moses that was winning the battle – it was God. I just pictured Moses hanging onto the hem of God’s Robe. Everytime he turned loose of God, he came tumbling down.

Leave a Reply

