Communion – Seconds and Forever

It was an amazing day – Sunday November 1, 2009. I’m not sure I’ll remember the day itself but there are things about it I will never forget.

It was a Sunday when we celebrated Holy Communion. I remember standing behind the table going through the Communion service. I was privileged to lift and break the bread and lift the cup in thanksgiving. But, what I remember most was standing at the Communion table where candles were lit representing the saints who have gone before us. I reminded those gathered there that this was a table outside of time – an eternal table. When we gather to share the Communion meal we gather with all those who have gone before us and all those who will come after us. I’m not sure if others felt it, but I did. We shared together a meal with believers across the millenniums – how utterly amazing is that?

I thought that was a great perspective on Communion, but I found one that was better. There was in the crowd that day a little 15 month-old girl who had just had surgery to fix a problem that made eating difficult. She went up with her mom to take Communion. When they returned to her seat she was telling her mom, “more” (and using the sign language word for “more” – the only  sign she knows). Mom didn’t know what she wanted so she put her down. The little girl ran back up to the Communion servers and put out her hand to get – MORE. And she got more.

I know God was pleased that I saw the Table before me as an eternal table. I’m sure God was glad that I had such a good understanding of that truth. But, I have to wonder, would it have pleased God more to see me do what he saw his little one do? Would God have smiled bigger if I had gone back to Him and asked for MORE? If I had, I’m sure the result would have been the same, I would have gotten more.

Those who have faith as a little child – they will know the Kingdom of God. Amen and amen.

Holy high five to you, Mike

 

One response to “Communion – Seconds and Forever

  1. How wonderful God is to give us such an early Thanksgiving! As Jesus said, feed my sheep and so He did!

    My think-walk this morning was somehow built around God tempering to strengthen us for our work in heaven. It occurred to me that when we examine our actions, if we would consider whether we would do that in the presence of God it might be pretty clear what we’re doing wrong. Of course its easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

