Confessions of a Procrastinator

Today is the day I’m getting all my tax information together to send to my “tax guy”. Yes, you heard that right. Today, September 7th, getting tax info for 2008 submitted so my returns can be completed. It’s not all my fault. Really, it’s not. But that’s just what you might expect a procrastinator to say, wouldn’t you? I do have some extenuating circumstances, but that only allows me to find excuse for my natural inclinations. The reality remains, I struggle with this weakness within.

So, I’m writing this blog as the spiritual leader of a community of Jesus-followers known as Asbury United Methodist Church. My own sin and weakness is not what I prefer to be writing about. I would love to be espousing the greater virtues of my experience of God’s power and calling in my life, and I could be, but it seems this needs to be said: I’m a procrastinator by nature. It’s not my habit, but it is my nature. I wish it were different. I envy those who are gifted in areas of organization and structure because I am not.

So, I find myself ending up with Paul:

I will boast about someone like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

(2 Corinthians 12:5-9 TNIV)

The struggles we face in ourselves are not always taken away by God. Sometimes they are allowed to remain in order that we cannot boast in ourselves but must give glory to God for the way he is made known in our weakness. We might even say that our weaknesses are a gift given to us by God that allow the work of the Spirit to be known more powerfully in our lives. Would I dare to call procrastination a gift of the Spirit? There have been times when joking around I have, and in a way, it really is. Should I not fight against it? Yeah, I should. Don’t put God to the test and all that. But it is good to know that even in my weakness God is at work.

What’s your struggle? What’s your weakness? I pray that in your weakness you will see the strength of God. It’s His gift of grace to every one of us.

Right now, I have to go deal with taxes.

Holy high five to you, Mike

3 responses to “Confessions of a Procrastinator

  1. I could comment on this , don’t have time right now. Maybe later. Good to know that I am in such good company. Ther are too many things that I have to get done, just does not seem like enough time . Later , one of the other Mikes

  2. I think exploring a weakness is God’s way of opening new frontiers in our life. I enjoy your blogs because they open new avenues to explore. The opportunity to comment is invaluable because seeing it in print sometimes makes you consider it in more depth.

  3. I was going to tell you about my struggle, but I’ll do it later.

Leave a Reply

