What In The World Am I Doing?

Chilobe Kalambo just got married. You may have seen his story in the Houston Chronicle. His bachelor party took a strange turn and he ended up sitting under an overpass not far from downtown Houston. It wasn’t because the party went awry – the strange turn it took was all very planned by Kalambo himself. He’s out there on a regular basis trying to touch those who others deem untouchable. Here’s what it says in the story:

“Kalambo said he does not volunteer because it makes him feel good. He moved past that years ago. He does it because it is part of who he is.”    http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/metropolitan/6415732.html

A man, getting married the next day, gets his friends together and tracks down homeless living on the streets of Houston to give them dry socks, some clothes and a hug. That’s amazing. So, now I know what in the world he’s doing, the question is: What in the world am I doing?

The problem I have right now is I’m reading a book (Lost and Found by Ed Stetzer) that includes some interesting research. Seems people who are not connected to God and not involved in church don’t see Christiaqns as particularly effective in making a difference in the lives of those who need help the most. As I read the book, I realize my own story doesn’t sound anything like Kalambo’s. It’s not that I don’t do good things. As a pastor I give my energy to trying to help people know the joy and peace that comes from knowing Jesus – not a job to be minimized, at all, but you know, Kalambo has a full time job himself. What in the world am I doing?

I think my story needs a new chapter. I think it’s time to find my place in the world. It’s more than doing things that make people feel good, it’s about making a difference in people’s lives. I’ve done some of it before, but it’s about time to do it again. My hope is that in the near future you can ask me the question – “What in the world are you doing?” – and I’ll have an answer worth talking about.

If you want to know if this is really something we’re supposed to do as followers of Jesus, I invite you to read Luke 10:25-37.

Holy high five to you, Mike

2 responses to “What In The World Am I Doing?

  1. I read that article too – awesome young man – and his friends went with him. So, Mike, I’ll be interested to hear what you decide to do.

  2. Pastor Lindstrom –
    Thank you for giving me a shout in your blog. I also thank God that SEARCH (the organization that I volunteer with) got some much needed press and have seen an uptick in interest from prospective volunteers.
    Just a little humble comment on your reflectiuons. You and I know that we are all called to do different things in the body and for the body of Christ. Some, like yourself are called to minister and shepard, others, myself not withstanding, are called for positions of servitude. All of us however are called to serve joyfully and wholeheartedly regardless of where the Lord directs us to serve.
    So just an encouragement, I am sure the Lord is well pleased with what you are doing and I would encourage you to press on… however, as one who is passionate about social justice and the poor… I certainly appreciate and encourage your participation!
    The wedding went without a hitch, and my bride and I are looking forward to some much needed down time!
    Blessings, CWK