I’m all a-Twitter

I still remember the moment it finally happened. I struggled with it, got frustrated, thought it might never be. I didn’t understand why others could experience it but I had not yet done so. If only I could live life the way others live life, I thought, then I would be happy. And then it did. I tried one more time and that time I got it.

You might think I’m talking about the day I learned to ride my bike or hit a golf ball with any amount of accuracy (now there’s a God-sized miracle that has yet to happen!). But, no, it’s neither of those. Today I was able to get Twitter to work on my Verizon phone. Yes, that’s right, I can now get no more than 140 characters of info at any moment which tell me what others are thinking or doing. I say “others” because some of the people I “follow” and who “follow” me I have never met! Author and speaker John Maxwell – we follow each other on Twitter. I get leadership advice from him and he gets my latest eating struggles from me. Seems to be an unbalanced relationship but he chose to follow me – so he gets what he gets.

To non-twitter techno-pagans this seems to be a strange world. But to those who know it is simply a cool way to stay in touch and be connected. It’s a weird but interesting way to do community. And for me that’s the essential piece. Yeah, there are some I “follow” (Twitter language) who are church leaders and gurus of different ilks. But most are friends and colleagues whose lives I’m thrilled to be a part of – and thrilled to be in the minutiae of those lives. These days it’s easy to miss out on the minor moments that provide a framework for the more significant moments – Twitter provides that in some ways.

Paul talks about being connected when he says:

Get along among yourselves, each of you doing your part. Our counsel is that you warn the freeloaders to get a move on. Gently encourage the stragglers, and reach out for the exhausted, pulling them to their feet. Be patient with each person, attentive to individual needs. And be careful that when you get on each other’s nerves you don’t snap at each other. Look for the best in each other, and always do your best to bring it out.  (1 Thessalonians 5:13 MSG)

Simple words and experiences shared among friends can help. That’s part of what these Face-Space_Twitter things do for me. They let me here from others and share their life a little bit – even my cousin in New York.

It may not be for you what it is for me, but are finding ways to stay connected and to be encouraged and to share your life? If so, then you are blessed. I know I am.

Holy high five to you. Mike

One response to “I’m all a-Twitter

  1. Being in touch with people is one of the most important things in my life. Sharing a bit of oneself with others and giving and receiving care is balm for the soul.

    God intended us to be together. God works with us to create blessings for one another and being connected expands our horizon and enables us to touch so many more people.

    I just love it when someone goes to the trouble to find me and reach out. Makes me feel loved.

Leave a Reply

