Quoting Scripture at the Movie Theater

I went on a movie marathon last Friday. My daughter had friends sleeping over and her older brother really wanted to be somewhere else, so we had a guys night out. We had dinner and then saw two movies back-to-back. The one that intrigued me the most was Gran Torino, the latest Clint Eastwood flick.

WARNING: if you have not seen the movie you may not want to read this blog yet. I will try not to be a spoiler, but you may get more info than you want.

Okay, if you’re still reading… I was curious about this move and had no real idea what it was all about. I met a friend on the way into the movie and he said the main character was like Archie Bunker on steroids. That made me wonder, but he wasn’t far from wrong. As the movie begins you see issues of family dynamics (or the lack thereof) and a man who struggles to live in a changing world. As the movie progresses the man’s rough edges get softened only to the extent that the blade of a saw get somewhat dull after much use. But the interaction he has with his neighbors is the compelling part of the story. Eastwood does a really good job.

As I walked out of the movie I began to hear in my head this Scripture: 

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.              (John 15:13)

I found it interesting that a non-religious movie would evoke that response in me while so little of what I do or see in the life of the church would bring such a word to my mind. It’s not really a judgment as it is an observation – or even a personal life-lesson. How ready am I to give everything I am to help others find a better sense of life in this world?

I’m thankful to Clint for making me think and feel such things. Have a great week.

Holy high five to you, Mike.

One response to “Quoting Scripture at the Movie Theater

  1. I’m not a big fan of Clint Eastwood but in reading your comments, the first thing that entered my mind was Jesus teaching of whosoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

    You told me before that God shows you what He wants you to see and leads you where He wants you to be. Unfortunately, for many of us, we don’t always see or follow.

Leave a Reply

