Monday Musings …… February 2, 2009

(Wow, can you believe it’s February! Time just whizzes by!)

I went and workout at the gym this morning. It’s part of my goal to live healthy and be healthy. The challenge for me is making it a regular practice (I need prayers, but also could use a partner who will meet me at the gym 3 days a week at 5:30 in the morning).

I like the days when I make it to the gym in the morning because I feel the effects throughout the day. My mind becomes much more aware of my muscles. And, because my mind is reminded of my workout it helps me make better food decisions. Could I make good decisions without working out? Sure I could, but the workout is helpful in keeping me on track throughout the day. The workout is also making me stronger and healthier on its own.

So, why do I regale you with my morning regiment? Well, it is my blog – but that’s not the reason. The reason is that this same principle works for our soul much like it does for the body. Spending time with God on a regular basis – a dedicated time of prayer and reading the Bible – are the spiritual workout for the soul. I hear people say that they pray throughout the day and don’t really have a set routine for prayer and devotion time. Can you still be connected to God in that way? Sure, but not at the same level. The intentional, devoted time you give to God pays dividends throughout your day. The Scripture you read and meditate on may not come back in full form, but you will feel it in your spirit. The prayer time you give to God will nourish your soul and you’ll feel stronger because you gave that effort.

I think of the words of Hebrews (4:14-16)

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin.

Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

When we take time to go to “the throne of grace” we find the Spirit of God that renews us and sustains us and makes life more than we could ever make it on our own. May you find time today to spend time with God for he waits to give you all you need to be stronger and healthier deep in your soul.

Holy high five to you, Mike.

Leave a Reply

