Monday Musings …. January 26, 2009

I’ve gotten the story of David and Goliath in my mind lately – and, in truth, the story should be called “The Israelites and Goliath.” Hopefully you’ll understand by the time I’m done dumping all my mental wranglings out on this blog. Anyway, it began as I thought about the challenge of living into God’s vision. I think about that for the church I’m privileged to serve and whom I love. I also think about that for me personally – I wrote on my Facebook page one day that Jesus wasn’t kidding when he said following him would not be easy!

The question that came to me as I was praying and thinking about the call to live into our faith was this – Was David nervous when he went to face Goliath? I know he went, and I know his words to the giant before him – “You come at me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord our God!” But, as he made the trek out to meet this warrior, as he stopped to pick up some stones, as he crossed the battlefield, did he have some fluttering in his stomach? I’m hoping he did, because I often do.

Now here’s the reason the story should be retitled – David went, the trained soldiers stayed. David took up stones, the soldiers took up a hiding place. The only way to conquer the giant is to walk by faith onto that field and use even the meager weapons one has (but that you know very well how to use). The story of the Israelite soldiers lack of faith is just as important as Davids bold faith. As a matter of fact, the boldness of his faith is more obvious in light of the soldiers fear. To step out and follow God where others say “don’t go” or say “I wouldn’t” is to step boldly.

The challenges come before us and God asks us the question: “Do we believe, or do we not?” Will we dare to move forward with stomachs that flip flop around? Will we seek to use what seems a meager weapon in the face of a powerful force? Will we declare that the power of God with us is greater than any giant before us?

I have come to a decision. Nerves and concerns may be felt, but I’m stepping onto the battlefield. The inadequacy of my presence as I face the challenge may appear to be obvious, but the power of God to overcome is the unseen reality that says things aren’t always the way they appear. I hope you too make the decision to believe, because when you do the giant will fall.

Holy high five to you. Mike.

One response to “Monday Musings …. January 26, 2009

  1. Mike, I agree with your decision, nerves and concerns may be felt as well as inadequacies, but I’m stepping onto the battlefield into God’s powerful presence. David was by no means a strong man in himself. In fact, when he was ruled by his own passions, his seemingly solid marble character proved to be cracked and flawed. The key to David’s strength was that He acknowledged God as its source. He understood a principle of faith that the great apostle Paul realized “for when I am weak, then I am strong” 2Cor. 12: 7-10 As Christ said: “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness. David realized like Paul that when our walk is weak, the Lord is our only strength. Often we depend on our own abilities and sight which is the exact opposite of faith in fact Jesus said; Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of God, Or to realize we are spiritualy bankrupt in our own abilities ushers us in to God’s strength to face our Giants. Thank’s Mike for the card you sent Nancy and I we enjoyed service and will probably visit again in the contemporary services. God Bless You and Keep You! Jim

Leave a Reply

