Monday Musings….. January 19, 2009

I know the subject du jour is the inauguration of Barack Obama as the first African-American president of the United States – and I am thrilled to be alive and engaged at a time like this. It is truly a historic moment and one that calls for thanks to God. But my heart’s burden is somewhere else today.

Last night I surprised myself when I challenged my Sunday night Bible Study group. I told them I would pay ten dollars to anyone who could bring a man – WITH HIS BIBLE! – to the Bible study. There is a grand absence of men in the realm of discipleship and spiritual warfare. For example, in a small group that will once again begin to meet on Monday nights, and only meets for 6-8 weeks twice a year, there are two men beside myself. Where are the mighty men of God who follow the most courageous, bold, world-changing man by the name of Jesus?

I’m at a bit of a loss. Many men seem to have made providing money for their families the greatest of all priorities, as if having a nice house and a great car will give their families and them some sense of security. No wonder men who lose their jobs have such a great rate of depression, it’s all they have that gives life meaning.

I think about the pilot who landed the plane in the Hudson River. His actions saved hundreds of lives. I know that men who help lead the church and lead life-changing ministries can do the same at the more important spiritual level. For that pilot there is only one way he was able to make that frightful but heroic landing – he was attentive to his task and stayed well-trained in his skills. For the men of the church it is the same. To be attentive to their relationship with God and to stay well-trained in the Word of God is essential, for when the engines you usually depend on fail you’ll need to know how to act in order to save lives – the lives of your families and friends and yourself.

I’m open for suggestions. How can I serve the spiritual needs of men and lead them to a greater, more life-changing, more adventurous existence? I believe the lives of many depend on it.

Holy high five to you, Mike.

2 responses to “Monday Musings….. January 19, 2009

  1. Amen to that, Mike. I have no answers or even suggestions, but I am glad you are searching for some. I know there many godly men, but there are so many more who are not attentive to what is truly important and they are the ones who can so easily be led astray during difficult times – like the ones we are in right now. I’ll be praying for you to gain insight that you can then share with the rest of us! My boys are both professed Christians but I can see so many ways they could get off-track and I so very much want them to be Christ-centered men.

  2. Wow!! I totally agree… I have believed for a long time that we need to seek ‘the men’… Other than praying for them, I don’t have any suggestions. But I know that prayer works and I’ve recently seen results of prayer for a guy, when I ‘heard’ that he made the plans for his family to go to church instead of his wife who usually does that. By the way, I am loving this sermon series… very, very good! Broken men in a broken world.. might be a song there!

Leave a Reply

