Monday Musings………………….. January 12, 2009

Well, we began our new “2 Your Health” group yesterday. It was a time of confession – many of us having to admit we are the heaviest now that we’ve ever been. Weight-loss was the goal of the majority of the people and as we talked I began to realize the struggle many of us have is what David said – “our sin is ever before us”! Our failure to eat right and exercise is obvious everyday as we look in the mirror and wrestle ourselves into our clothes. I now understand what we need most – hope.

I also know that’s true for people who are not overweight. One of our greatest challenges is letting go of the guilt we have about the wrong we’ve done in the past. Some feel the burden of a failed relationship or a career that cratered. Others deal with more internal issues of mismanaged anger and selfish attitudes wishing they had spoken to their children or their friends or coworkers in different ways. The chains of the past seem to weigh heavy on our shoulders.

Paul wrote these words (Philippians 3:13-14):

Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. 

In many ways it is important to “forget” what we’ve done in the past, important to not dwell on our failures. Many of us in the “2 Your Health” group talked about how we would do good in eating right for a while, but sure enough we’d fall back into old habits. “I’m afraid I just can’t do it…” is a familiar mindset. But I have decided we will no longer allow those things to be said. We have to forget what is behind and strive toward what’s ahead. Yesterday was yesterday and it does not dictate the success of tomorrow.

Our failures must not define us. God’s mercies are new every morning and there is HOPE. With Him we can do today and tomorrow things we never could imagine if we just look back at yesterday. It matters not if you’re trying to lose weight, get good grades, or be successful in your job – your future is in God’s hands, if you let it be.

Holy high five to you. Mike.

2 responses to “Monday Musings………………….. January 12, 2009

  1. I feel inspired by your blog. I really needed to hear that even though my actions have put me in an unhealthy state. I will recover my healthy body through right eating, excerise and prayer.

  2. Thank you for the reminder that each day is new in the eyes of God. I needed to be reminded that each day is filled with hope because of God’s forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

