Monday Musings…………….. January 5, 2009

Well, here it is, a new year. Funny how an arbitrarily determined date set as the beginning of the new year so readily prompts us to live life in a new way, I include myself in that thinking. One of my goals this new year is weight loss, but did I really have to wait until this month to begin? Not according to Bob. Bob is one of the personal trainers on the TV show “The Biggest Loser”. As I watched the finale the other night to see who would come out on top (or on bottom as the case may be), I heard Bob offer one piece of advice to the audience – both live and at home – “Don’t wait!” His point was that there is no reason to wait for a “new year” to live life better. Why not start now?

So, I realized he was right. And as I began to take stock of my own life and my own situation I noted that there were many desserts and chocolates and other things around my house from the holidays. If I was going to lose weight those things would have to go – so I ate them. They are no longer a temptation.

I had another dilemma with this whole “get healthier” issue. I am starting a new group for support and encouragement of those who want to get healthy – by losing weight, eating better, stopping smoking, etc. That group begins next Sunday. My dilemma is this, if I take Bob’s advice and I begin right now I could lose some weight before the group begins. However, since we will be weighing in each week and talking about how we did, the weight I lose before that first meeting won’t be recognized. I won’t get any credit for the pounds I lose this week, so maybe Bob’s advice isn’t so helpful.

Any way, all kidding aside (or most kidding aside), I find myself confronted as Paul was with my own struggle to do what’s right (Romans 7:15-24 NIV):

15I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

 21So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. 24What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? 25Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord! 

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength…

Happy New Year high five to you, Mike.

One response to “Monday Musings…………….. January 5, 2009

  1. I like the new page design!

Leave a Reply

