Monday Musings ……………. July 7, 2008

You never know what a day or week might bring, do you?

Sunday was shaping up to be one of those Sundays where things are adapted and shifted and reconfigured due to a variety of circumstances. Matt Black was called out of town unexpectedly – the band makes a shift. Another band member and our media person are at the hospital early Sunday morning waiting on a baby – alternate plans are considered (thankfully the baby was born and that couple was in church serving as faithfully as ever). A number of people who serve in worship areas were out, or on vacation – others step up and step in. Most people in the church never felt the difference. People quietly responded as God called them to serve. People dedicated to their call to serve made adjustments to be where they needed to be.

You never know what a day or week might bring…

 As a pastor, I live in this background world of the church. I see just about all the work and sacrifice and faithfulness and joy of those who serve the church. I never cease to be amazed at the way the people of God serve His purpose. At times I am humbled and wonder if my faith is as theirs, but mostly, I just thank God that I get to be there to see Him at work in and through these people. They are my joy – they allow me to see the Spirit of God in a real and tangible way. Through them (through many of you who read this) I come to know the joy of God in my life.

You never know what a day or week might bring…

That same sense of joy was magnified, intensified, and multiplied as a small group of dedicated servants came together to transform our sanctuary into the POWER LAB. Our VBS program this week will be nothing less than amazing. So many have already done so much. I’m told there are upwards of 50 volunteers serving this ministry – that’s close to 1/4 of the people who come on Sunday morning! I am anxiously waiting to see the Spirit of God at work in and through them this week. Faithfulness never goes unrewarded, and faithfulness is abundant in the hearts of those who are serving this week.

You never know what a day or week might bring – but if I had to venture a guess, I’d guess that this week will bring about a great spirit of JOY.

May the Joy of the Lord be your strength.

Leave a Reply

