Monday Musings ……………. June 30, 2008

He makes wars cease
       to the ends of the earth.
       He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
       he burns the shields with fire.

“Be still, and know that I am God;
       I will be exalted among the nations,
       I will be exalted in the earth.”

The LORD Almighty is with us;
       the God of Jacob is our fortress.

(Psalm 46:9-11)

Be still and know that I am God – and you are not. That’s the message I hear in these verses. God is the one who changes things. He is the one who overcomes the challenges and gets us past the struggles. That’s good news. When we know who God is we can look at our challenges with greater courage.

My hurdle comes in what God says we need to do to know him – BE STILL.

BE still and know…

Not work hard and know… Not make big plans and know… Not seek success or look for positive activity and know… BE STILL and know.

I am rediscovering my need to be still and the benefit that comes from being still before God. It may be by baby steps that I find my way to having real “still” time, but I am finding more of it. It allows God to be God – and it reminds me I am not, nor should I try to be.

I believe worship was more meaningful yesterday because I had taken some “still” time. I found myself in the presence of God more than I had been in some time. I must say, I missed being at Asbury. I love worshiping with the people of God in this place.

And it was another blessing of a day yesterday. Harry and Nancy Porter joined our church at the 8:30 service. I visited with them last week and I can’t wait for them to know Asbury and for Asbury folks to know them. It seems that God is moving in many ways to bring people into this place.

And then last night, my good friend and faithful follower of Jesus, Elizabeth Moreau, was here. She mentioned this idea of being still. She asked us if we knew what God wanted to do here at Asbury. And, she asked us how much time we have spent being still and knowing God, because how could we possibly catch God’s vision if we’re not talking to him.

Some of those words were the same ones she spoke to me not long ago to encourage me in my faith journey. As I told you, I took those to heart and it has made a huge difference in my spirit. I hope you will do the same this week.

BE STILL… and know that God is.

Leave a Reply

