Monday Musings ……………. May 19, 2008

The day after…

Always interesting to look back at a day that was full up with the good the bad and the ugly (usually I take care of the ugly role). Overall yesterday was a good day – some of you were out, and you were missed – but all in all it was good, just had a few bumps along the way. But, we’re not going to dwell on those.

We finished up the series on World Religions with a look at the Hindu faith. I never have enough time with these messages – there is SO much to cover in such a short time. I really have enjoyed this series. I got to flex some theological muscles that don’t get used near as much as they did when I was in seminary. I have also received a lot of positive feedback. There seem to be a lot of people who enjoy the “teaching” style messages that get into history and new subjects. May be something to look at in the future.

I met one mom and son – the Bewleys – who were back for a second visit this week. It was good to see them. I also talked and prayed with Patti Knape, she’s a fairly new member who is struggling in a fight with cancer. It was good to see her, but made my heart ache also. It’s tough to see someone so young dealing with a disease so vicious. But, I was glad she was here because I know that Asbury is one of the most loving places to be, especially on Sunday morning when so many are gathered in one place.

Now I have to tell you the best part of my day and my week. Scott Evans dad, Willis, went into the hospital (and things for him are a bit iffy depending on how sick he is). I got a call from Cindy Evans (Scott’s wife) that Willis wanted to talk to a preacher, so I went to see him. Well, long story short, I had the opportunity to pray with him as he put his faith and trust in Jesus Christ. Then, Sunday afternoon at 2:00, I had the great privilege of baptizing Willis. It is one of the highlights of my year! Then, to top it off, he joined our church – he and his son, Scott!

Fast forward to Sunday night where I am set to be a media servant for a powerful Disciple III worship service. Before I can get to that task I talk with Susan Palmer who has been letting God pour ideas into her like crazy! Ends up that we will be having a SUMMER OF LOVE TOUR 2008 – where Sunday nights are a “don’t miss” event. Look for the t-shirts I’m having made for all the leaders to wear on Sundays – YES, Sundays, as in Sunday mornings!

All I can say is, it seems to me that God has something going on around here. I can’t wait until next week!

Peace to you,

Pastor Mike

 

One response to “Monday Musings ……………. May 19, 2008

  1. Janice Williams

    It is wonderful to hear about Scott’s father. I will continue to pray for him.
    I am excited about our summer series. I will only be able to make one Sunday evening in June due to traveling. That will be June 22. Susan is scheduling the coffee tasting for that night. I will order the coffee and find a coffee drinker to prepare it. I will also order tea. It should be a great event.

Leave a Reply

